Midea Mini Split Wifi Support

Hi guys, I just got installed a new Mini split with a WiFi adapter. it's a Midea based AC.

I learned that they make machine for a LOT of brand, like Hualing, Senville, Klimaire, AirCon, Century, Pridiom, Thermocore, Comfee, Toshiba, Carrier, Goodman, Friedrich, Samsung, Kenmore, Trane, Lennox, LG and more! there all use the same WiFi device.

It seems to be a Huge player on that market, and I Wonder why nobody make a Hubitat driver for them?

I found some projects that work with Home Assistant, but I would like to keep everything within Hubitat. a more robust and capable platform.

Is anybody here interested to work on that project? I wish i was a programmer but I don't have this skill ;/

5 Likes

Can you share links to the Home Assistant details? That would help to gauge complexity and whether it is possible to port or implement support for Hubitat.

EDIT: this seems potentially relevant -- GitHub - andersonshatch/midea-ac-lib: Library for controlling Midea AC devices via their cloud</ti

1 Like

Hi tomw thanks for the reply,
This project currently works with my device without having to use the Midea clouds

1 Like

Cool, thanks for the link.

It's a little bit confusing because it looks like that developer added local support into an existing cloud integration, so some of the interfaces that he emulated seem weird.

I don't think the discovery mechanism will work with Hubitat because it seems to rely on broadcast UDP requests and replies.

But if you already know the IP address of your AC unit, these seem to be the pertinent parts. Maybe the Hubitat rawSocket interface could do the job?

2 Likes

yeah we need to provide the IP address, ID, a Token and Key

those are easy to retrieve using midea-discover as instructed on the mac-zhou's project page

1 Like

Subscribing, in case someone posts a solution that uses the Midea controller bus and not the wifi/cloud USB dongle that doesn't work with my particular unit.....

3 Likes