Simple Email Notifications

I have read numerous posts where people have setup MailGun, Cobra or SendGrid with Hubitat. I have tried all three with no luck. MailGun simply does not have documentation that even explains how to properly format a CURL request, so I am not even sure how I would integrate it. Cobra refused to give me an account. SendGrid can't send via GMail, Outlook.com nor Zoho.

I would gladly pay for an integration that took a technical person less than 40 hours to setup (I am an expert level Python, Spark and Javascript engineer; I can send emails in all those languages...why not from a hub?).

I think it is ridiculous for any product like Hubitat or SmartThings to not include a simple SMTP send. ALL my security CAMERAS and NVRs do this out of the box. There are literally thousands of email clients out there. Why can't these hubs do a simple SMTP integration and send? Why does one have to setup multiple relays, a home email server or complex integrations? Email actually sucks as a regular form of communication, however for the use case of alarm notifications it is actually the perfect medium.

webCoRE has native email support and works well on Hubitat. SMS is deprecated from the SmartThings solution.

Thanks. How do you set it up for use with HE? I installed from here)? but the last step is to go to the Dashboard which requires requires SmartThings? I do not have STs.

Launch webcore from your apps in HE, then click on the Dashboard option.

my send mail works fine also to any servers...

Thanks, but I can't use it without authentication. That's really not practical without ones own email server...which I am certain will stop working the second someone breaks into my house and I NEED to see the email notification.

it now also supports authentication.. username password but non encrypted.

1 Like

And TLS.

I have Webcore up and running and it does seem to be easy now that I have the basic mechanics down.

1 Like