Questions about Hubitat history

Folks,

I'm a retired mainframe Systems Programmer and I started with modern home automation quite accidentally in the Summer of 2014, two years before Hubitat came on the scene. I wanted to replace nine 60W incandescent bulbs in a relatively inaccessible fixture with LED bulbs and found that the only affordable option was Quirky/GE/Link lamps at about $13 each. I bought a Wink starter kit for $30, which included a Wink hub and two Link lamps, seven more lamps, and changed-out the incandescents in that fixture. If I could have found "dumb" LED lamps at the time for less than $35 each, I probably wouldn't have tried home automation at all as I already have a host of my own hobbies with my own related expertise. I did try X10 in the 1970s, but found it wanting (not to mention almost burning down my house), so I don't count that.

This started me off and, now, most of the bulbs in my house, a few wall switches, outlets and sensors are smart. Wink worked well for me over the years, so I had no interest in Iris, Vera, SmartThings, Hubitat, etc., including home-assembled custom systems.

Having switched to the HE platform this past Fall, and having begun to immerse myself in this community, I find myself curious about the history of all of the home automation platforms, and how the various platforms are related. I know there are people in this community who know the connections among the various platforms, as they're mentioned obliquely, and hope that someone will lay it all out, just to satisfy the curiosity of us newbies.

Regards,
Jeff

3 Likes

The short version is a group of bad ass SmartThings power users knew they could build a better mouse trap, and they did. The longer version is follow the history of Rule Machine.

11 Likes

Went down that rabbit hole.. And found the point in history when the powers that be got fed up with the old system.. But there is a big gap in the chronology I have been able to piece together..

4 Likes