Presence Governor

I've found it extremely useful to add a threshold to the excellent Hubitat-Combined-Presence application from Joel Wetzel. So I figured I'd publish it just in case anyone else finds it useful.

So what's the difference?
I have broken presence device down into types, and handle presence events differently for each type.
Apps that do Geofencing (Life360, Locative, your choice here)
WiFi Presence Sensor
Fobs

Apps for Geofencing
Variable Thresholds. Ex: If any 2 of 3

WiFi Presence Sensors (due to the iPhone WiFi sleep issue)
present = present
not present = check Apps for Geofencing

Fobs
No Threshold Check
present = present
not present = not present

https://github.com/omayhemo/PresenceGovernor

Hope you find it useful.

2 Likes

awesome, thanks for sharing. I'm going to take a look at this now. I'm using a few RM rules to combine wifi and geofencing, but I like the idea of using an app with purpose-built logic for this. Not being a computer programmer my own rule logic often leaves much to be desired :nerd_face:.

I think I'm unable to add the child app because the namespace for combinedPresenceInstance is different than what the parent app is looking for. Changing line 97 in the parent app code so that namespace is "dwb" instead of "joelwetzel" seems to fix that because now I can add a child instance.

I made the change to the repo. Thanks for the bug report.

1 Like

I'm still seeing this error currently when I click on the "Add a new combined presense" option

Logs:

app:424 2019-05-05 10:53:26.372 pm infoParent Installed OK
app:424 2019-05-05 10:53:18.943 pm infoParent Installed OK
app:424 2019-05-05 10:53:14.996 pm infoThere are 0 child apps
app:424 2019-05-05 10:53:14.989 pm debugInstalled with settings: [:]

Can you check what namespace the Parent app has?

Sorry for the late response, just saw your reply now. I'm using what's on the coding on Github right now:

Parent:

namespace: "joelwetzel",
author: "Joel Wetzel",

Child: