Lights off after no motion for X amount of time

I'm new to Rule Machine starting to get used to it at least I thought I was. What am I doing wrong with this rule? I want the lights to go on in the garage when I open the door (which works perfectly fine btw) but after I leave the garage after one min with no motion from the garage motion sensor I want the garage lights to go off. If I go back out I want the timer to reset.

your delay needs to be able to be cancel-able, and you need to have a cancel delay in under the the first if statement so when you trigger the sensor the delay is canceled and the light doesnt turn off.

1 Like

This is such a common use case that there exists a couple apps that help you do that sort of thing. Take a look at Hubitat® Simple Lighting app. Also Motion Lighting something.

1 Like

I was looking at these options and I found that these apps either do motion or lighting. I thought RM would give me more options

1 Like

Wow this seems clunky compared to webcore. I think I'll try simple lighting before I go and edit the rule. It took me a while to figure out. I feel like I'm going to mess it up and have to start all over. In fact that seems easier to me just starting from scratch. This need a option to copy other users rules then change it to your liking that is how I learned webcore.

1 Like

That would be handy, especially since there are so many great examples here in the forums. But it is worth it to get the hang of RM, i'm still figuring it out but it really does let you do pretty much anything you can think up once you understand its logic

1 Like

HAL9000 So trying Simple Lighting. Will this cancel the timer if I reset the motion? I think this is why I tried RM it is more robust I believe once you get the hang of it.

1 Like