Home Assistant or Hubitat or both?

Hi to all,

Starting from this post Will Hubitat support Matter? [Spoiler: YES] - #368 by pascal.nohl I just wanted to share some of my decisions, but rather in the lounge than cluttering the original post.

I was not buying a C8 to participate in the beta tester program as recommended by some users. I did not profit from the Black Friday to get the C8 cheaper. Instead, I bought a Home Assistant Green for $99 and a bundle of 2 Sonoff Zigbee Dongles for $30. I flashed one to a firmware for Thread. So I have now a system able to connect to devices over Wifi, Zigbee and Thread. A Z-Wave dongle will follow next month.

No system is perfect and as I'm new to Home Assistant I still struggle with some understandings and ways to do things. The interface is overwhelming but nice and modern.

I was absolutely bluffed by the number of devices and even better the number of 'attributes' called entities in HA that it found out of the box. I can now use the Shelly TRV, connect to my printer and see a dozen of states and even my car and it's Hi-fi system. Zigbee devices seem to connect easily.

The number of 'implementations' is huge and the HACS (HA community store) is very impressive. Also the community is much bigger than the one for Hubitat.

The dashboard is out of the box very pleasant and configurable. For more advanced styling you need to modify a YAML file (text). I'm still struggling with that, but got first impressive results. It seems much easier than the not documented CSS way of Hubitat.

One point that is really important for me is that HA is open source and I can restore my system easily on a Raspberry Pi, NAS, Windows PC, Mac, Linux PC, other micro computers and nearly on any 64 bit PC as native HA OS in case I need more (MORE) power.

The downside is that until someone convinces me, Rule Machine is more powerful that HA Automations. Maybe it's just a question of time and knowledge.