ZWave groups and associations versus "Basic Rules"

I have a GE Enbrighten ZWave motion switch and have it doing what I want using "Basic Rules".

I have the switch configured in "manual" mode, which means motion doesn't turn on the device's load switch. Instead, the motion "event?" turns on two other lights in the room.

While it works, there is an objectionable delay. And, the hub must be powered on for the motion event to be forwarded to the lights I want it to control.

Another ZWave device I have (RGBGenie touch panel) can be configured to control other Zwave devices even when the hub is not active. Hub is required to specify which lights to control, but it's not required after configuration. The latency to control the lights is imperceptible.

I'm brand new to ZWave--is there a way to associate devices or make a group to accomplish what I'm doing with "Basic Rules" that might decrease latency between motion detect and the lights turning on?

How are you doing this currently?

1 Like

Yes, Z-Wave devices can be linked (Associated). There is a build-in app called “Z-Wave Association Tool” that will allow you to make those direct association. Each group can be used for a different type of association (on/off vs dimming, etc.) between Z-Wave devices.

2 Likes

This is true, but do you plan to keep your hub powered on only sporadically?

2 Likes

How are you doing this currently?

Not sure I understand your question, but I use "Basic Rules"

This is true, but do you plan to keep your hub powered on only sporadically?

I don't mind keeping the hub on all the time. I just added this comment since it indicates that the hub itself must be sending commands to the lights after noticing the motion event. I suspect that's the source of the latency.

Thanks! Trying that now...

1 Like

Sebastien

I don't see a "Z-Wave Association Tool" in the list of built in apps.

1 Like

Found this:

Is this the one you meant?

Sebastien,