Zigbee devices unreliable after C7 to C8 migration

I recently "upgraded" from C7 to C8 and have had nothing but problems. I have multiple zigbee devices that work for an hour and then become unresponsive. power cycling them sometimes helps, but these were solid before the migration. I also have the Alexa error messages constantly, but I'm more concerned with zigbee devices that seem to work just find and and then become unresponsive.

Also wondering what problems I'd run into if I went back to C7 which was significantly more stable than C8

This is kinda like stating the obvious but the C8 should work the same or better. I'm not an expert here because my Zigbee have been rock solid but I suggest you post the Zigbee mesh map (new capability in C8) Also check you have the latest firmware (even if you C8 is brand new)

1 Like

If you left the C-7 powered down and didn't do any of the resets, then powering off the C-8 and powering on the C-7 would generally work. The same caveats for migrating to the C-8 apply going back... some clicks to re-establish communications (Alexa, etc.) might be needed.

I'm with @JohnRob though. My migration from a C-5 to a C-8 was more or less flawless and has been so since. I had two C-5's running different parts of my home, and then migrated to two C-8's. One had only Zwave, the other has both Zigbee and ZWave. Even the horrible zigbee Hampton Bay Fan Controllers (HBFC) have been perfect on the C-8.. they weren't on the C-5. I believe the better, external, antennas help the HBFC the most.

1 Like

The migration appeared to be flawless until automations started to fail because devices became unresponsive. whats strange is they become responsive again if I power cycle them several times, or try to factory reset them, but it's getting old really fast. Network was working really well until the C8 came along.

go to logs then click on hub events. Anything interesting in there? (Do this first)