Z-Wave vs Zigbee

I know this question is beat to death, but I am having a problem figuring it out. I'm completely new to this and trying to get started. My issue is that I see lots of Zigbee bulbs (Hue, GE, etc) and more Z-wave switches. I've already decided that I will go with Hue lights (Unless someone tells me otherwise here) but is there a reason not to use Z-wave switches alongside the bulbs? I know it's 2 different networks, but it seems like they would work with the HE hub. That being said:

A. Should I just use Zigbee switches and forget about Z-wave completely
B. Will using both of these cause issues in the future?
C. Do you need a switch in place of all of the regular switches on a line or can you just change out one of them. (Currently 3 switches do turn on and off across the circuit through 3-way or 4-way switches)

Forgive me if I sound stupid, I feel like I'm making this harder than it needs to be.

2 Likes

You can mix Zigbee, Zwave, or even Lutron.

You don't want to put smart bulbs after a switch, unless you can disable the switch and just use the switch as a controller. It will certainly mess up your smart bulbs operation, and/or the Zigbee mesh. This is also pretty expensive way to do things, why not just use a dimmer switch with a dumb bulb?

If you really need the smart bulbs, you have other options for controllers other than a Zwave wired switch. Lots of us use things like the Lutron Pico remotes (Lutron Pro Bridge required), or something like RGB Genie's remotes and RGB controllers. There are other options too.