Understanding Repeating and a Few Other Tidbits

First off, I'm not a developer or an engineer. Just a girl that likes to do some research. Since I've lived the problems I'm going to talk about, I can probably confirm this information is at least pretty close to being accurate.

So,I just wanted to take a few moments to discuss some of the issues that are coming up here. I’ve put together some information that I’ve researched during my quest to make my locks and other devices work in my smart home. It’s a bit of a read. I’ve bolded the hilights so maybe something stands out to you.

I located this document from silabs after someone recommended I look up FliRS . This answered all of my questions about why my expensive z-wave locks were not communicating . That was a frustrating time. So, I’ve taken the time to give you a few tools that you might need to understand what you’re being told in the community. This document will explain why you need a mains powered repeater that supports beaming.

There are different ideas of placement of a beaming repeater. Some say place as close to the hub as possible. Some say close to the lock. The purpose of a mains powered repeater with beaming is so that the repeater is sending the same message until it is received by the lock when it wakes up. This will conserve battery as your repeater is using the power and not your lock. This also ensures that the complete message gets communicated to and from your lock because the beaming triggers the lock to fully wake up when there’s a message waiting.