New user - Did I make a mistake? Schlage smart lock & C-8

So I'm new to Hubitat. At my previous home I left a SmartThings hub, Schlage Lock, and a bunch of Zwave devices for the buyer of my home. I just got a brand new home and figured I wanted a hub with a little more flexibility so I bought a Hubitat C-8. My new home also has Schlage locks so I decided to get another Schlage Smart Connect BE469ZP. I've been reading the forums and it looks like there's no support for the lock native to Hubitat so I need to use a custom driver. I see one mentioned here: Schlage Locks - It's the built in driver, stupid

Unfortunately this is the first Z-wave device I have purchased for the new home and I didn't realize that I would have to go to the extreme for my first pairing. Any advice and how I should go about getting this all to work? Both devices are brand new and I just took the C-8 out of the box last night to get it connected. Tonight I was going to work on the lock.

This device has a built-in driver.. It’s been removed from the supported list because of how many people report problems with Schlage devices… There are many that don’t have problems.. It is suspected that it’s specific firmware versions causing problems..

Now this being the first device you are trying to include.. They are known for including with low power, so if you don’t have repeaters, you may need to be closer to the hub…

1 Like

I have three Schlage locks, and I have had variable success with them. Some days they work well, most not. But their lock/unlocked status is almost always slow to update on my Hubitat. Sometimes 30-60 seconds, which creates havoc with my automation routines. I have replaced one of the Schlage with the Yale Assure 2. It seems to be working better. But they are very expensive, especially when I have to purchase a ZWAVE module to go with it. My PERSONAL advice, stay away from Schlage locks when used with Hubitat.

1 Like