MQTT Alarm Panel

As suggested by the developer @kevin, I am starting this thread to track the work done to get his MQTT software working with MQTT Alarm Panel. I am very new to MQTT, so be gentle. The installation guide for the alarm panel states the following:

Supported Command and Publish States

• Command topic: home/alarm/set
  • Command payloads: ARM_HOME, ARM_AWAY, DISARM
  • Publish topic: home/alarm
  • Publish payloads: disarmed, armed_away, armed_home, pending, triggered (armed_night not currently supported).

I was thinking that following step F to use an MQTT virtual switch would likely be the best route, but then again, I am noob. For reference, this is the Alarm Panel (AP) page:

Hi Frank,

I'm going to have a read of the information on that website and try and understand better the role of the app. It seems to extend quite a bit beyond just an alarm interface and was created to front end a software alarm solution like HA.

You're right in that the using virtual devices is likely the best way forward. I don't use the keypad/alarm devices in HE but they are supported in the MQTT app, although might need a bit of adaption.

In my case I have a standalone Ethernet connected alarm panel that communicates onto MQTT. It provides quite a lot of information including zone activations (armed and disarmed). It cannot be disarmed via MQTT however (my choice).So my goal is really to get this information into HE and HA. I wouldn't be using HE or HA as my 'alarm'. Do you use HA, just wondering what drew you to this app?

Are you hoping to use HE as an alarm solution - with sensors etc?

Also you could just map the reported alarm status into HE modes if that was useful. The MQTT app fully supports modes.

Node-RED may also become useful here adding some intelligence in the management of topic payloads between HE and MQTT. It interfaces directly to both.