Is the Zooz Zen27 still considered "to chatty"?

I'm pretty new to HE. I have a single Zooz Zen21 switch that controls two lamps connected to a Zen25 double plug, and that's it.

I am wanting to get some Hue lights for our bathrooms. I was originally planning on just using another Zen21 with the relay disabled so I can use it as a scene controller. But then I saw this post talking about an upcoming firmware update to the Zen27 dimmer switch that would allow the relay to be disabled, but still use the dimming feature to dim smart bulbs.

So then I started looking into that, because then I could use scenes (though I would lose 2 because the dimming is done by pressing and holding up/down on the paddle) and dimming from the switch and wouldn't need to rely on voice commands or the app for dimming. But I've found threads with people having issues with them, and HE staff commenting saying the switches are too chatty and to not fill your house with them.

If you do a search for "Zen27" you'll find other threads talking about this too. But when I look on the big spreadsheet of supported devices, I see the Zooz Zen 20 - 27 all listed.

I'd add this post to your extensive compilation of background literature: https://community.hubitat.com/t/in-youre-opinion-how-well-will-the-zooz-dimmer-work-with-smart-bulbs-firmware-update0/24249/12

To add to that, Hubitat added support for the ZEN27 after Zooz disabled continuous level reporting while dimming, which was the source of the chattiness (my recollection is that they refused to do this before that was changed). Or so I thought Zooz disabled it--apparently it is a parameter you can adjust (that is where the post comes in above). I have no idea what happens when you enable that (does it still report, just not every single percentage--which would potentially cause 99 mesages in a matter of seconds?), but in any case, it's something you can disable, so I'd classify the device as "safe." :slight_smile: