Hubitat <--> Homebridge <--> Homekit

Hello all,

I'm just getting started with Hubitat and I hit a road block. I've been using Homekit, Homebrige, and Alexa Echo to control my devices. Instead of using IFTTT for custom actions, I thought I'd try Hubitat. I like that it's local; it's supposed to work faster than the cloud, be more secure, and will work when my ISP is down.

First, do I have the concept right? I use Homekit/Siri and Echo/Alexa for voice control. I use Homebridge so that my various smart devices can communicate with Homekit. I'm trying Hubitat to create custom scenarios (if this happens, and that is happening, then do this).

How do I get Hubitat and Homebridge communicating? Is there a step-by-step guide? I can't find one.

Thanks,

Bryan

I don’t have this setup personally, and there is no native method, but this thread may help you:

2 Likes

I’m not sure if either siri will, but I know alexa won’t function without internet..

But Hubitat will function without internet.

3 Likes

Hubitat will work when your internet is down, but keep in mind anything that uses Alexa won’t (including Hubitat’s integration).

Also, the Homebridge integration is meant to bring your Hubitat devices into the Apple home app. It does that very well. But if you want a full two-way integration between other devices that are in the home app but not paired to Hubitat, it’ll take some working around to manage that (and may or may not work out well depending on the devices and your expectations).

Edit: @bcopeland mostly beat me to it :slightly_smiling_face:. I don’t think Siri or Apple Home app automations can do much without internet, but I’m actually not sure about that either.

4 Likes