Hubitat-device-driver capability matrix?

When shopping for devices (in this case Z-Wave, but applies to others), often see "supported by Hubitat (or similar). Great! Or I will search in various places (such as these forums) for community support. Great! ...

...But then find aftter purchase-install that not all device capabilities are supported, or that behavior is a bit cough sketchy cough. Which leads to another search to try and determine if it is a device, driver, or a more basic issue.

I am new to Hubitat and only have a couple data points to draw from, so hard to draw conclusions. My two data points are:

1. Zooz ZSE44 Temperature Humidity XS Sensor -- Driver is community provided (thanks @jtp10181!). Device reporting seems inconsistent with parameter settings (could be me).
  2. Minoston Mini Power Meter Plug. Driver provided by Hubitat, but does not appear to allow proper control of reporting (e.g., report only on change of X watts, which leads to exceessive events-noise).

Stress that this is not a critique of those specific devices, drivers, or their capabilities. IMHO the issue is a broader, and needs to be addressed at a higher level,

Would love to see documentation on what capabilities are supported by Hubitat (whether built-in or community supported) in order to make more informed decisions. Specifically: Vendor says device is capable of X, What set (or subset of X) capabilities does Hubitat support?

In my admittedly simple mind's eye, that might be, e.g., a simple matrix or enumeration of "device has capability X" with a corresponding "Hubitat [or community driver] supports Y'. Ideally X and Y are the same. If not, so be it.... maybe Y is not important to me. Or maybe it is, Hard to tell, and make decisions, without that information.

Thoughts? Do I have unrealistic expections? Thanks in advance.

1 Like