Help me convert a Rule 3.0 rule to Rule 4.0

I am using power-monitoring plugs to monitor my washer and dryer using Rule 3.0 rules I had copied from @ogiewon. An example can be found here

I am trying to convert these to Rule 4.0 and add more conditionals before an announcement is made. By dumb luck the rule I made (pasted below) works, but I'm getting duplicate notifications. So obviously it is wrong.

I could really use some help in cleaning it up and making it work.

Thanks much!

I am far from an expert, but I did my similar rule quite a bit different. I actually used two rules, one set the Private Boolean, and that PB result is used in a second rule. I am not sure if that is better, but it was easier.

The other thing I did different was the PB rule was:

• IF power level is X set PB to True,
  • ELSE IF set PB to False.

I didn't do that first END IF you have, nor did I say "wait for condition".

See this link for screen caps of what I did:

1 Like

Does the power level ever change when the private boolean (henceforth, PB) is false? If so, what will happen is a delay, then the notification--every time the power level changes and is below 10, not just the first. If you set the "Cancel?" flag on that delay and then add "Cancel Delayed Actions" at a logical place in your rule--perhaps when you set the PB true, then that may take care of that problem. That being said, I'm not sure the PB is doing much for you here: you could just put the "Wait" for the level <= 1.0 inside the IF (Power level of Samsung - dryer blower is >= 10.0 block, along with whatever you want to happen after both of those conditions are met, which is seemingly just the rest of your actions. Waits are effectively cancelled/reset every time the trigger fires (so you should be good there); delays are not (they will pile up; I'd still use an ELSE with a "Cancel delayed actions" so it gets cancelled if the level goes above 10 again).