HE C-8 + Zooz Zen72 + Wiz; Issues and need big help

Hi all.
I'm new to HE with the C-8, new to smart switches with the Zen72, but have had my Wiz bulbs for quite awhile (and like them when they work properly). I have tried to piece together answers to my problems from several different posts on here, but some are a few years old so I don't know how specifically relevant they are now, some utilize different component variations so I don't know how applicable they are, and some mention things like "just use XXX and XXX" without an explainer (which I then also can't really find either).

Here's what I'm wanting to do and what my issues look like:
I have already swapped out several dumb switches for Zen72 dimmers. They work fine without enabling Smart Bulb Mode, I just make sure to not dim them. When I go through the button commands to enable it, I get the green LED light confirming it, but then the bulb is either off, indiscernibly low light, or dark red. I no longer have the ability, whether at the paddle or through control in the online Hub control (the top of the Device menu, not actually set up apps or drivers for these specific on/off commands I'm trying to give them to turn them on/up after enabling Smart Bulb Mode), to actually control the bulbs. I tried emailing Zooz support, but they weren't any help and just copy/pasted the instructions for enabling Smart Bulb Mode.