GE Dimmer Z-Wave Plus Question

I just got my Hubitat a few days ago and a few of the GE Dimmer Z-Wave Plus switches (14294) to try out. I plan on using the first switch in the kitchen to light up the others. I installed two switches to test this out and it works, but there is a 0 to 2-second delay on this.

I have been reading up on this thread and about instant status vs polling and am a bit confused. It looks like these new GE switches are not using polling, as I am using the Generic Z-Wave Smart Dimmer driver, but it isn't quite "instant". When I set the switch from Hubitat both lights turn on at the exact same time. I did load up a custom driver and log out what is getting sent by the switch.

'zw device: 03, command: 2603, payload: 2B ' parsed to [[name:switch, value:on, descriptionText:Kitchen - Over Cabinet Lighting was turned on], [name:level, value:43, descriptionText:Kitchen - Over Cabinet Lighting brightness set to 43, unit:%]]

But I'm new to Z-Wave and am not sure where I look up this command/payload.

So my question is do any dimmer switches actually report their status near instantly? Or do they all have this slight delay? Do I just have something set up incorrectly? I have seen the HomeSeer hs-wd200+ says it supports instant status.

Sorry if this is nitpicky or has been explained already, but I really want to understand what is going on before I buy a bunch of any particular switches. Thanks for any help.

Be careful of marketing hype vs reality. "Instant status" is just status that is sent back uninvited. :slight_smile: It's no more instant than Instant Hot Chocolate. It's just infinitely faster than no status at all, and beats polling. :smiley:

4 Likes