Flash lights, please help

Hi.
I've been scrolling through post regarding flashing lights, and I can't figure out how to do it.
I have a HUE bridge setup with some 25 IKEA bulbs linked to it.
I would like all of the lights to flash X times when, for example, a motion sensor is triggered when I'm away.

Can anyone explain to me, in kindergarten English, or preferably in Danish how to do it? I'm relatively new here and I'm not very technical, but learning.. :wink:

Kasper

I believe your device (bulb) needs to be flash capable, otherwise flash doesnā€™t work. I ran into this myself. I have a siren with a strobe light which is capable of flashing, but my IKEA bulbs are not capable.

Someone here suggested a on/off a couple of times as a workaround...

It's the on/off solutions I've been looking at. But I'm not talented enough to make it work :blush:

I think I am in the same boat and I am unable to assist you with this. Hopefully someone will pick this up :slight_smile:

I have an app I wrote a long time ago called (suprisingly) ā€˜Flasherā€™ and ported it from ST to HE some time ago
It was pretty basic in how it works
Iā€™m looking at updating it soon but you can have a play if you want.
This does not require any special feature of the switch or bulb and just basically turns them on/off a configurable number of times.

http://hubitat.uk

Andy

1 Like

I do it like this...

I use this to flash my porch lights to indicate that the garage alarm has been armed or disarmed from a zwave remote....

I had a quick look on your website, does it provide the ability to activate a flash based on a switch or is it for timed events?

Thanks for your amazing contribution to the Hubitat community! Iā€™m using a number of your apps!

1 Like

Switch, motion, time, contact :slight_smile:

Andy

Does it consider the original state eg if lights were on/off before the flash does it return to the original state ?

Atm no.
Thatā€™s one of the reasons Iā€™m going to revisit it.