Car presence detection (without cloud)

I'm trying to come up with a reasonable way to detect someone's presence, but without any cloud dependencies.

My first attempt was Joel Wetzel's very nice iPhone Wifi Presence Sensor (GitHub - joelwetzel/Hubitat-iPhone-Presence-Sensor: A virtual presence sensor for Hubitat that checks if an iPhone is on the WiFi network.) which works as intended, but of course phones go into sleep and stop responding (and sometimes get forgotten) so that's not a guarantee. It's a start, but I'd like to combine that with something else.

Car sensors seem like they would do nicely as an addition, but I don't know what really exists in this space. I'm down to maybe build something myself if there's nothing reasonable out there already, but I have very little experience with Arduino (lots with raspberry-pi, but that's not so great on cost/power).

Ideas:

1. Both my cars have some sort of bluetooth, but no wifi. If I could detect the presence of the bluetooth device, I would know that car was present. But of course they power down and disappear when the car is shut off. Would probably have to poll frequently to "catch" the car arriving or leaving before it's powered down or out of range... and then which is it, arriving or leaving? Maybe useful, maybe tricky.

2. A garage "distance sensor" / "range finder" / "metal detector" might work. I could put it on the ceiling and detect when something of the same height as the cars was present. Works all the time, but maybe subject to false positives (boxes in the way of the sensor, people walking under it, etc?) and doesn't cover parking in the driveway or street.