[BETA] D&D Floor Plan Dashboard Editor

A drag and drop editor for creating floor plan based dashboards. This eliminates the grid layout and positions tiles via CSS. It will overwrite any custom CSS.

19 Likes

That looks sweet!

Very nice! What do people use to create a floorplan image?

I used SmartDraw. Then I edited the exported SVG to make it scale well.

https://www.smartdraw.com/floor-plan/architectural-drawing-software.htm

5 Likes

I just started playing with this. Here are some notes:

I created my SVG floorplan images uses SketchUp (since I already had the house drawn in that), exporting to PDF and then using Inkscape to convert to SVG. I manually edited it to height="auto" and width="auto". Having a small margin around the SVG seems needed (I didn't do this yet).

Once I uploaded my floorplan to my hub, I could add it as a background image using the path (e.g.,) /local/1st-floor.svg.

The instructions are written assuming you did not do an autofill on the traditional dashboard. On my first one, I did the autofill, and then when I went to hupIP/local/DashEd.html, all the existing tiles were stuck in the upper left. Selecting them and moving them was tedious. I recommend not doing autofill and adding tiles one at a time as per the instructions.

I definitely need to do more work.

I'm really liking this!! Brilliant, thanks for sharing.

3 Likes

I'm relatively new to HE so please bare with me :smile:. Does "installing" this D&D floor plan dashboard editor "mess" all the existing dashboards or just selected one? Can new dashboards be created and edited with default HE dashboard editor?

With best regards!

This only affects the specific dashboards you edit & save with this editor. I have a mix of dashboards, some using a floorplan and some with the normal view. You can always revert a dashboard by wiping out the custom CSS it saves.

3 Likes

I liked the drag and drop editor... just a small problem... at least for me.