Zooz device associations

Hello Hubitat community! I am new to Hubitat and am setting up my first hub. I have included a zooz dry contact relay and a zooz zen34 remote switch into my hubitat. Both have been included successfully but I am not able to figure out how to control the relay using the remote switch, I have added the dry contact relay DNI into the device association in the remote switch preferences, but it isn't working so perhaps I am entering the DNI in the wrong place? Thanks in advance for any help!

With help, I successfully associated a Zen34 with a Zen16. I'll look for the thread. It's been awhile.

Unless it is critical for it to work with the hub offline, the easiest way is to just setup a rule in RM or button controller. No direct association is needed.

5 Likes

Also, as far as I know, you can only associate the Z34 to one relay, so the top button is on, and the bottom button is off. If you set up a rule, you can do multi presses of the buttons and control three devices (on and off).

Awesome, thank you for the responses. The only way I had found to connect the two devices was through an association, but I will give rules a shot. It will be the first rule I have set up, but it seems like it should be straightforward?

I would recommend you start with the built-in Basic Rules for simple association type rules. (Ex.: When this button is pressed, turn on this switch)

Another option, especially for buttons is the Button Controller built-in app, which is essentially Rule Machine but with the focus on buttons. These apps are more complex to use, and very powerful.

2 Likes

I would use the button controller built-in App.

1 Like

I have the same setup as Valleybeach with a similar question. I am experimenting Hubitat/Z Wave in preparation to upgrading by 60+ Insteon devices.