Zigbee 240 volt switch

Good evening, everyone.
I'm trying to automate my well that runs on 240 volts. I'm not an electrician, but it has a switch that shuts it off and on. The switch looks like a regular light switch with two wires in and two out.
Is there a Zigbee or Zwave switch that works good with HE that's made similar?
Thanks for the help.

Hi there,

I have no direct experience with this, but you may need to be careful with the # amps your pump pulls when starting up. With that, you may want to check out something like this:

Enbrighten Z-Wave Plus 40-Amp Indoor/Outdoor Metal Box Smart Switch, Direct Wire, 120-277VAC, for Pools, Pumps, Patio Lights, AC Units, Electric Water Heaters, 14285, Gray - - Amazon.com

Cheers!

4 Likes

Where are you located in the world? North America? Or elsewhere?

If you are in North America, this GE switch may work.

https://www.amazon.com/120-277VAC-Electric-Compatible-Certified-14285/dp/B00YTCZZF0/

3 Likes

I second the GE/Enbrighten z-wave indoor/outdoor smart switch. I have one installed outside to control outdoor lighting. It also handles 240 volt loads. It has a weatherproof NEMA 3R enclosure and is easy to install and wire up.

If you go to the bottom of the Amazon page and click on the spec sheet you will see that it is rated for 2hp at 240 volt. It is not cheap but it is a heavy-duty switch that should handle your well pump, assuming the pump is 2 hp or less.

2 Likes

Sinopé RM3250ZB Electrical Load Controller – 50A – Zigbee
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B07CGJ6XH2

You might be able to use a Third Reality overlay switch. I have used them quite a bit on paddle-style (Decora) switches. Work fine with HE. Note that I had trouble with a toggle switch so I changed it to paddle.
Zigbee Smart Switch, Gen3.
https://www.amazon.com/Amazon-Zigbee-Switch-Compatible-Studio/dp/B08TVZK8D6/144-3981687-5937402

2 Likes