Z-Wave Inclusion Question

Hi,
I'm new to HE, migrating over from ST. I went through and reset all my Z-Wave switches and plugs and was pretty much done adding them to HE. Then, through my own stupidity, using my ST hub, I excluded a bunch of my switches. They still show up in HE devices, but they don't work. If I re-add them, then I have two instances, one that works, and one that doesn't. If I go to delete the non-working one, the hub goes into exclusion mode and I end up removing both instances.

Is there a better way?

I'm a little fuzzy-brained over this one. You mean is there a way to somehow re-include the zwave device while leaving the original z-wave device on HE intact and somehow re-matching them?

You MIGHT be able to do this with the z-wave replace function if the excluded device still shows up in the zwave details page. But I'd make sure as you go you aren't creating a lot of zwave ghost devices. Those will come back to haunt you.

How many are we talking, and what's the advantage? Have you already used those devices in a bunch of automation and you're trying to save yourself the hassle of updating them all?

I guess I'm looking for the easiest way. I get the feeling deleting and adding again is going to be it?

Well... if the devices still show up in zwave details and a replace button is available (you might have to hit refresh or repair a couple times) that might work. But yeah I think so. Hopefully it's not too many devices.

@Tony is Mr Z-Wave. He might have some advice.

This would be my choice, though the "if available" thing can be tricky, and hitting "Refresh" one or twice as you note may be necessary for the hub to see it's failed (which is the only time it will show up).

But ...