Why so few Zigbee Switch users?

Based on several posts in recent threads, it looks like most folks are using Lutron or various Z-Wave switches for lighting. Are there any good options for zigbee switches? I've seen that Jasco/enbrighten is an option, but most of what I've seen discussed here are the Jasco/GE/Z-Wave flavor.

And to be clear, I've no experience with either. Again, from the reading I've done in this community, many folks here feel zigbee is a more reliable network, but don't seem to use switches based on that system. As I plan my path forward, I'd like to focus my time and money on building one solid mesh (zigbee) and not two (zigbee and z-wave).

As a side note, does anyone have a recommendation of a good site to shop for these kind of things? The sheer number of choices on sites like Amazon are a bit overwhelming for someone just getting started. I would prefer a smaller vendor with a smaller selection of quality products.

Personally I try to choose Zwave since it’s not sharing frequency with 2.4Ghz WiFi and the signal will travel farther. That’s my main reason.

6 Likes

If you are in the US, both inovelli and Zooz are great home town / small company solutions.

If in Canada like myself, only inovelli will ship to Canada. For Zooz you have to go via Amazon and none of the sales are reflected.

And zwave vs zigbee is a huge ongoing debate. Myself, if it’s wired in a wall, I am zwave. If it’s a plug-in or battery, then zigbee. I have a couple exceptions like the inovelli 4in1 sensor that I am using for outside lux is zwave and my wired in Hampton bay fan controllers are zigbee, but in these cases I purchased for the function, not the radio

1 Like

I don’t believe either of those brands sell zigbee devices. I know zooz doesn’t.

1 Like

Sorry I thought it was a general question of where to buy devices. Yes both make zwave only I believe. Could be wrong about inovelli, they may have some zigbee. Dunno.

2 Likes