Why do I want Pushover?

I'm new to Hubitat - a bit of a learning curve but after a few hours of tinkering, I really like (most of) it.

I've been reading about notifications and I don't understand why so many people keep recommending Pushover. Why do I need or want Pushover when the native mobile app gives me push notifications? Does Pushover give me something extra or more reliable? Is anyone using Pushover for things other than Hubitat notifications - sort of like a notifications hub? If you do use Pushover, why don't you use the Hubitat mobile app? Maybe you use both. Why?

What am I missing?

Thank you.

3 Likes

First, it's notable that the Hubitat platform predates the Hubitat mobile app, and even today, any function is totally optional and can also be provided via other means. You've just found one of them--Pushover is one option people used before the mobile app. If you happened to see posts from 2018, then that was probably the case. Some people continue to use it or choose it instead of the app because there are some additional features it supports, like "priority notifications." If you don't see a use for it, then I wouldn't bother. If you do, it's at least cheap. But if you don't, the Hubitat app is free. :slight_smile:

3 Likes

Personally I use Push-over for the following reasons;

1. The integrations let you choose "Normal" v.s. "High priority". So now on iOS I can have a notification about a water leak or someone turning my home alarm OFF while on vacation interrupt my quiet hours/sleep mode on my iOS device. And other notifications can just be normal
  2. History. I really like having full rich history I can comb over to see what has happened.
  3. Backup - For super important things like HSM/Water sensors/alarm, etc. I like having two systems notify me -> HE proper through their webapp and pushover.

#1 is the main reason for me though

I'm sure there are others.

2 Likes