Which hub would you recommend to a normal person?

I moved from Samsung to Hubitat six months ago. It has not been without difficulty but I have decided to soldier on for now. I am a long-time hobbyist in the computer and electronics fields. I can program in archaic languages and I have two Raspberry Pi's running Ubuntu and doing stuff.

My daughter and her husband just moved into a new house. She loves all of the smart stuff at our house. She already had a smart fridge, oven, and washer/dryer installed and she is asking what kind of smart dimmers, switches, and other stuff to buy. Neither she nor her husband are the kind of people who have a GitHub account or want to deal with flaky Z-Wave networks or firmware updates.

Thus my question.

Would you recommend Hubitat to a "normal" person?

With Samsung going away what else is there?

Seriously.

I would recommend Lutron Caseta for in-wall lighting controls. For smart bulbs, I’d recommend Philips Hue. Between those two, all of their lighting devices should be easily controlled. They could then tie both of those systems together with Amazon Alexa. If they use an Echo with built-in Zigbee hub, the they could add motion and contact sensors easily enough. Tie all of it together via Amazon Alexa Routines, and they’d have a very flexible system with no custom code required whatsoever. It would be cloud dependent, but it would be fairly straightforward.

I would avoid Samsung SmartThings, as it is unclear what their long-term strategy really is, as they’ve stopped making home automation hardware. Hubitat is great for the tinkerer, hobbyist, enthusiast type of folks. But if you’re looking to keep it simple...well, you know... :wink:

If they grow beyond the capabilities of the above, they could always add a Hubitat hub later on. The Lutron and Philips lighting would be easy to integrate with Hubitat. Only the Zigbee sensors would need to be re-paired.

14 Likes

What he said. Good advice.

1 Like