Two days later and I'm switching to SmartThings

I'm an experienced developer, I've been writing programs since I was a little kid. I've written complex Android and iOS apps. I code for fun and for profit. I love the idea of automating my home to make it more comfortable and to save me time. I like to keep my data close and having an offline option where I can set up an intranet and write my own rules seemed like a great solution.
My ST hub arrives today and I'm returning the Hubitat.
Let me tell you why.

Documentation
We. Must. Have. Documentation.
Must.
Even in the days of yore when I was writing scripts to make custom levels in Doom II I had a print out of the API calls that a friend gave to me. It listed all the commands the system could accept and it was 30+ pages of 8pt font. Here's the Hubitat developer documentation:sparse.
The language has no dictionary.
Ah yes: look at the ST docs. It's the same basic language (Groovy? WHY?!). But some of the API is different from that system, and there is no comprehensive list of what those differences are, so if an error is thrown I have to search through these forums or post a question. That makes development for Hubitat NOT FUN. Imagine how someone with no experience at all would look at it.

App ecosystem
I could forgive the lack of documentation if there were a host of example apps demonstrating best-practices presented in an organized fashion. This does not exist. Individuals post their own links to comment-free code using cobbled together anti-patterns (who can blame them?) in the forums and native apps and drivers are closed-source. This is an educational dead-end, or maybe a bridge-out. Sweet.

IDE