Trying to wrap my head around rule machine - washing machine "done" notification

Hello!

I am relatively new to Hubitat. I am trying to set up a rule to alert me when my washing machine is done.

I have a Smartthings mutli sensor connected to Hubitat. I am trying to build a rule like

If acceleration became active, and then became inactive for at least 10 minutes, alert me.

Here's what I have right now:

It definitely doesn't work. It alerts every couple of minutes, for like, ever.

It seems like there is something I am fundamentally misunderstanding. Any help?

You have enabled cancel, but nothin IS canceling

There is a pretty good app for this that works and has some nice filtering and wattage settings that are helpful to reduce false triggers that you might want to try.

You're going to run into problems here because your washing machine stops frequently during the cycle. When it goes to fill and rinse, I would be surprised if the accelleration sensor reads anything. So, instead of getting a notification that the cycle is complete, it will notify you when it starts to rinse. For washing machines, the only truly fool-proof methods to detect if it is done is energy monitoring or a photo-sensor tied to a "Done" led on the washing machine. I've not heard of any other reliable method for washing machines.

2 Likes

@csteele

You have enabled cancel, but nothin IS canceling

I am not actually sure how to specify what to cancel. The UI seems to just have a toggle, but no way to associate it to anything?

All that does is enable the potential for cancelling.

RM is wonderfully complex now... you can have 10 items in an action. Maybe only 3 of them have a need to be cancelled. You would enable cancel on those 3, leave it not enabled on the other 7 and then when you actually issue a Cancel.. those 3 will stop.

In RM 2->3 that switch was "Cancel on truth change" -- RM 4 doesn't have "truth change" anymore. So you have to actively provide the Cancel action.

34%20PM