Support to smart garage opener

Hello group, I am very new to Hubitat (bought the device yesterday). I have a contact sensor and kasa switches connected, created dashboards, etc. I am trying to connect my garage door controller. Mine is based out of a kit I bought from amazon made by Aubric (amazon product id is B07QG7RGFW. Simple amazon search should bring up this product. amazonDOTcom/dp/B07QG7RGFW). I have a SmartLife app on my phone and it works fine. I wanted to control this with my Hubitat. A simple Google search took me to Tuya, beta software, developer account, etc. So I want to check here first. Thanks in advance.
Regards,
Joseph

Aubric GDO

Unless you're really invested in that system it might be better/easier to get a Shelly 1 and go with built-in drivers and local control.

And welcome to the community!

2 Likes

Since you are new to Hubitat, you might not be aware that the primary selling feature of Hubitat is that it is designed to work with local control. That is it does not need to be connected to the Internet to function. It does need Internet access to update firmware, but it can function without routine access.

For this very reason, Hubitat is not designed to function with other devices that require Internet access such as devices requiring Cloud apps. In some cases, due to the popularity of devices such as Amazon Alexa, or Google Chromecast and Google Home Assistant, Ecobee thermostats, and certain Kasa smart switches aand various others, either the staff or the community have developed ways of connecting these devices to Hubitat.

Tuya recently became a member of the Zigbee Alliance (now Connectivity Standards Alliance) and has started to develop technology based on the Zigbee 3.0 standards. Such devices will work with Hubitat without the SmartLife app and Internet access. Devices based on WiFi rather than Zigbee still require the app.