Support for 433MHz devices/sensor/actuators using RFXCOM

I am new to home automation and am constantly discovering new information. I purchased the Hub and have set it up with a bunch of z-wave devices, everything seems to be working well thanks to the help of the community here. I recently came across this sensor when looking to keep track of the temperature in my freezer and fridge:
http://www.ambientweather.com/amf007tp.html

This led to learning of a whole host of 433MHz devices. In my mind they seem to provide a very cost effective solution to home automation. Why can't I use the Hub to control them or read from them? I understand the z-wave protocol is more secure/reliable, etc. but this provides a lot of functionality for those who don't care so much for those advantages.

What would it take to support something like RFXCOM with the Hub? So instead of having just the z-wave support with the USB dongle, we would also be able to communicate with the RF devices using the transceivers.
http://www.rfxcom.com/en_GB

5 Likes

I would love this! It would be really easy to add some cheap devices like door bells to hubitat.

2 Likes

@patrick, would you by chance have any input here? I don't see any past discussions on RFXCOM and am not sure what the rest of the community well versed in home automation thinks about it. Thanks!

I don't have much to add. It would be nice but I don't see a wellspring of demand.

ZigBee and Z-wave are our primary focus at this point.