Solved, no issue: Official Hue integration - weird stuff going on, security issue, or?

I've been using Hue w/HE for two or three years now, now issues.

Started having a light coming on that I was trying to track down, and was referred to this Hue page by @DubbyDad (thanks again): https://account.meethue.com/

On that page I had a number of apps enabled, some old so I removed them, along w/some that I didn't recognize, so removed them as well. One of the oddest apps was this one. I removed it.

I noticed shortly after that none of my Hue bulbs were responding. I went to the HE Hue Integration and saw this message:

Pressed the button on the Hue bridge and my bulbs came back and things are working again from HE.

The odd part now is that this app that I had deleted from my Hue app list came back:

This second app I had deleted also returned, possibly related to requirements of the HE integration:

Would appreciate getting some feedback if this seems normal or should be interpreted as concering. The "7-0" name doesn't look right, and I'm coming up empty trying to link it to anything related to Hue/HE. Here's what's currently in my app list on the Hue site:

Time to panic/I've been hacked, or ?

Tagging @bertabcd1234 since he's very familiar w/Hue...

1 Like

It is; Hubitat generates a name like that (would be great to have "Hubitat" or something in front of it, but it is what it is; for CoCoHue, I prepend "Hubitat CoCoHue" to make it clear). The "7" should correspond to the app ID of your Hue Bridge integration.

4 Likes

Thanks VERY much for the quick reply...my fingertip was hovering over the "Remove app" link!

Agree - that should be clarified. At my old company we had issues due to similar unclear labels. Whom should be pinged on this from the HE side? Must be a pretty simple change, right? (As soon as you think that it becomes a breaking change...) :slight_smile:

Oh, and you are correct - app id matches up.