Smart bulbs in obscure sizes?

I'm just getting started with home automation. Naturally, I chose the most difficult lamp in my home to begin. It uses a candelabra shape bulb with a standard E26 base. I think it is known as a B10, B11, or B12 bulb. I would like to replace this traditional incandescent bulb with a smart bulb if at all possible.

I've searched Philips, Sylvania, Cree, Yeelighting, GE, and a few other manufacturers, but I have yet to find one that makes smart bulbs in this somewhat obscure size. Do you know of a company that could help me? Thanks in advance!

Hello and welcome to Hubitat!

B10 refers to the bulb diameter and not the base.

http://tuxgraphics.org/electronics/powersockets/light_bulb_types.html

If you meant E12? base, there are a few smart bulbs available. Personally, I use a smart dimmer over a smart bulb.

Hi. Yes, the bulb diameter is either B10, B11, or B12 and the base is E26. The E26 base is the standard base in the US, whereas the E12 is a "skinny" base. I need the E26.

1 Like

I’m so sorry, I misread your post.

With that combination, your best off either using a smart dimmer or a E12 base smart bulb with a E12 to E26 base adapter. They’re sometimes called a reducer socket.

Like this:
https://www.amazon.com/JACKYLED-UL-listed-Candelabra-Converter-Resistant/dp/B00V4JVS70

1 Like

Thank you! Those are great ideas. I wondered if there was an adapter for this kind of thing. If I can find an E12 base smart bulb that is short enough for this lamp, I can use a reducer socket to plug it in. Otherwise, perhaps I can order a regular (non smart) LED bulb with the appropriate base and use a smart dimmer to control it.

1 Like