Sengled Color Bulb

I recently installed a Sengled Element ColorPlus Smart Bulb. This is my first time working with a color bulb.

I'm trying to understand the difference between "set color" and "set color temperature".

At first, I was just using set color in my rule, and it was working as expected. Later, after I had spent some time on the device page, I noticed set color was no longer giving me the correct color in my rule. Maybe I changed a device setting that caused this problem? So I started combining set color with set color temperature to get the correct color. Not sure if I should be doing this. Should I use only one or the other?

Could someone please explain "set color" vs "set color temperature" and how I should be using those in my rules?

Also, I notice "Enable color staging" on the device page. Does this allow me set the color before actually turning the bulb on?

Color and color temperature are different ways of describing light. Color is what it sounds like. It sounds like you maybe not be familiar with "color temperature," which is more or less a term forward "shades of white." Different bulbs different ranges here, but something like 2000-6000 is a typical range for many (the unit is K, or Kelvin), with 2700 K being more or less an incandescent temperature (3000 K being pretty similar and sstill pretty warm). The lower you go, the warmer the color temperature gets (meaning more yellow/orange). The higher you go, the cooler of a white you'll get (more blue-ish).