Seeking a bit of guidance: Local JPEG file utilized by Meural Canvas II device driver

I am seeking a bit of guidance please.

I have written a Meural Canvas II device driver.

At present it can suspend the Meural canvas, wake it from sleep mode and I have access to the light sensor that is built-in to the Canvas. I intend to continue development to give control over the picture galleries, etc.

Meurals have the ability to load pictures directly from a local device. I would like to improve my driver to facilitate the display of pictures stored locally on the Hubitat. I imagine use cases that would temporarily change the Meural display in response to some sort of event.

I have isolated the Javascript that performs this action on the Meural.

On line 28 you can see the append to FormData. BTW - I am by no means a JS programmer.

I have tried to duplicate the same functionality in Groovy. My first attempts were unsuccessful due to the FileWriter being blocked in Hubitat. Ref: Importing [java.io.FileWriter] is not allowed

I then found code written by @thebearmay (thank you!) that I found promising and I attempted to adapt it for a binary load. See lines 311 & 320 below:

I adjusted my usual post request code as follows:

Note that in line 146 I am attempting to match the format of the original JS append.

Unfortunately, my post request fails:

So with my level of expertise in diagnosing the failure I am unsure of the cause. I suspect that my data object or perhaps its presentation in Groovy is the cause of the failure.

So in summary, I am seeking assistance with replicating and adjusting the functionality of the original JS so that I might post a JPEG image stored locally on the Hubitat to a Meural Canvas.

Many thanks in advance - Norbert

Writing a blob file (images, etc) to the file manager from an app/driver has been, shall we say, problematic.

2 Likes