Roadmapping the Z-Wave Mesh

Do any of you Hubitateers have a successful drawing that you personally have made of your Z-Wave Mesh? I'm more visual and think that my learning curve would go thru the roof at E=mc2 speed. The jargon slows me down and frustrates my intellect.
What I'm thinking of is a Visio or whatever named project that shows blocks, bullets, arrows, etc. of the components that make up a masterpiece Z-Wave roadmap.
My background is medical radiography so I'm not immune to "shadows".
Thanks, in advance.

While such tools are available (for eg. ZWave Toolbox), the output is less informative that the numerical data found under Settings -> Z-Wave Settings.

@tony.fleisher has written a nice tool that sorts this data into discrete groups that permits rapid evaluation of mesh health, as well as trouble-shooting.

3 Likes

I agree, I think a visual map is going to be not very useful. Z-wave has no concept of distance and precise location. If one device is trying to find a route to the hub and a device clear across the house is responding the best it will assume it must be near by and in the path to the hub, and route through it. If you dig too deep it is just frustrating. Just have to learn to let it do its thing as long as the devices all keep working. Trust me I have tried and tried to get things to route logically and it just does whatever it wants in the end, but the devices work.

The Z-Wave tool mentioned above is great for if you suspect issues, you can dig in and get as much info as possible to help figure it out. [BETA] A Z-Wave Mesh Tool [C7 and 2.2.4+ Only]

6 Likes

I agree with everything that has been said here. Visual will just frustrate you because you'll spend hours and hours trying to get your devices to repeat the way you want based on your map and you'll literally never get it there.