[RELEASE] Sonnen Core Battery Driver

Couldn't find any drivers for the Sonnen Core battery, so I built one. Pretty basic, just retrieves the status from a locally connected battery. It will likely work with other Sonnen battery models, since I used the Eco API docs as a reference to build this driver.

GitHub - ke7lvb/sonnen_battery: Hubitat Driver for Sonnen Battery

Turns out the API docs are stored locally on the battery:
http://<ip_address>/api/doc.html

3 Likes

This works well with the Eco series as well.
thanks, I find the Sonnen software cumbersome at best!

I've got two Questions.

I'l like to swap the sign (+/-) of charge/discharge... to me negative is draining the battery, and the flow tile shows it negative when the battery is charging....
Can you suggest the right place to reverse that? i.e. the polling part of the code, or the flow tile?... I'm not a programmer, but seems like a fairly straight forward adjustment....

I have a bunch of automations to run when we hit backup power mode... but haven't figured out how to have the battery tell Hubitat that's whats happened... Hubitat will turn off a bunch of non-essentials, but only when I tell it. Since testing is a pain given the live nature of it, what's the best polling attribute to trigger rules, I'd imagine it's "powerSource" but I don't know if that's a real world event or.... Sonnen has a habit of telling the 'user interface' BS. Do you have any experience with kicking off some events when battery mode engages?

The battery Charge/discharge rate is Pac_total_W. I've just been grabbing the raw number from the JSON, but you can invert the sign by multiplying by -1 on line 156.

state.Pac_total_W = respData.Pac_total_W*-1

I have been leveraging SystemStatus != OnGrid to trigger automations. I have noticed that it will also trigger when the battery goes into maintenance mode, but it works better than powerSource. Maybe a combination of SystemStatus and powerSource would work.

1 Like