Pre-purchase questions re: humidity control

Hi there. I'm new to DIY home automation. My experience is limited to Alexa, smart light switches, and wifi thermostats. I ended up here from a random Youtube comment, and I'm liking what I'm seeing in Hubitat, but I am looking for more info prior to committing.

I have a Nest thermostat and I'm starting to hate it. I've put up with it for about 3 years, but it's getting to the point I want to rip it off the wall. I recently installed a whole-house steam humidifier which is wired to the Nest because Nest brags about having automatic humidity control. Well, "automatically" does not mean what I think it should, because the Nest does not anticipate cold weather or reduce relative humidity when the temperature drops. I end up manually toggling the humidifier on and off constantly to prevent condensation on windows.

Anyway. I started getting more into a way around this, and my current thought is to try to automate this as much as I can. I'd like to put several humidity sensors throughout my house so that I can get an average level throughout, and then be able to tell a smart thermostat whether to run the humidifier or shut it off. I'd like to be able to build logic in to check the forecast and reduce the target humidity if cooler weather is expected to prevent condensation. I want to use distributed sensors because for some reason the humidity level at the thermostat seems to drastically different than other areas of my home.

My questions:
-Is this a doable workflow with Hubitat? Has this been done before?
-What is involved in making this work? What kind of scripting/code knowledge do I need here?
-What hardware might I need? Is there a preferred humidity sensor that I can throw into multiple rooms?