Please help me understand light/switch timing issue

Hi there! I'm new to HE and pretty novice at automation in general. I used to have a staples hub (it was free, please don't judge!). When they pulled the plug on the servers, I learned the importance of local control. I was out of the game until I got in on the Black Friday HEC7 deal this year and have slowly started setting up some basics using my parts from the Staples days. While I enjoy tinkering (and have dreams of mimicking some of the examples of what I've seen in the community forums), my most important thing is high WAF. Which leads me to my main question...

I've been playing around with a couple of Hue lights (with bridge) in the master bedroom, a nightstand lamp and a floor lamp. I also have a GE Enbrighten Zwave smart switch. Originally, I had wired it so that the switch controlled the outlet the lamp was plugged into and then used HE to send a button command to the nightstand. However, in testing, I ran into some situations where the relay in the switch would simply stop responding for a minute, even though the device log in HE showed that the switch was physically pushed. (Specifically, if I turned the switch on, then held it off, it would stop responding). I rewired the switch so that it's always hot so now I have an old-school looking button on my wall. Using Basic Rules app, I set up six commands:
button 1 press = floor lamp on
button 2 press = floor off
button 1 double tap = nightstand on
button 2 double = nightstand off
button 1 hold = all on
button 2 hold = all off