Philips WIZ

Hello Everybody,

I'm new to hubitat. I've had SmartThings since V1. My smartthings hub is probably a decade old and still running. I'm hoping I can get the same longevity out of hubitat.

So I saw these Philip WIZ downlights for like $15 each. You can customize the color temperature. So I thought "wow can't loose".

The only issue I have is physical switch control. Philips doesn't make a wall switch so my current switch cuts power to the lights. It's not a problem really because these lights have a non volitile memory so the last settings on the lights are used when turned back on.

But I'd like a switch that controls the WIZ lights through it's IP protocol.

So I read that hubitat supports WIZ through the community app. And then someone suggested I purchase a zigbee switch like Inovelli Z-Wave Switch (Red Series) and use Hubitat to relay the on off .

How would I go about doing this?

You can do this a lot of ways, but the easiest is probably to start with an app like Button Controller. The Red Series device (Z-Wave, not Zigbee, BTW, but not relevant for this purpose) sends button events with taps, holds, and releases, so what you'd want to do is treat that like a button device and ignore the fact that it could also be a switch or dimmer (in fact, you'll also want to use the "disable local control" option and, if the dimmer, likely enable one of the "smart bulb mode" options, the former of which is the most important since it stops physical presses from cutting power to the attached device).