Newish to DIY and Want to Do It Right

Hello everyone,

I'm a tech junkie who allowed other companies to setup and do the controlling of my smart home for way too long, and want to use the Hubitat to integrate what makes sense to keep, and replace what doesn't with the most ideal devices on the market.

Current Smart Devices: Ring Doorbell Pro, Schlage Connect Z-Wave Lock, MyQ Garage Door Hub, 2 Z-Wave G Control GC-TBZ48 Thermostats, Nest Cam (wired older model), CCTV System with DVR (hardwired) and accessible via SuperLivePlus mobile app, Evolve LPM-15/TV-15W Z Wave Plug

Current Support Hardware: Aerotec DSD37-ZWUS Z-Wave Repeater x2

Context: All of the above was previously on a monthly paid monitoring setup and integrated using alarm.com, but I got tired of paying for something I could do much myself with their lack of actual support when I needed it and always trying to force sell me more equipment.

My home is a 1.5 story just under 2600 sq ft in total
The Ring Doorbell, and Schlage are at the front door, with the attached garage/MyQ to the left when at my front door. The first thermostat is nestled in a small hallway that leads to my garage from inside, the other is upstairs in my 1/2 story along with my router/modem, CCTV/DVR, and my office.

My big concern is that my 1/2 story is only accessible via a straight staircase (15 steps in length) and is toward the back of the house, and expands to border our walk-in attic over the garage going back toward the front of the house. Since it's not open like a loft I have concerns about the Z-Wave penetration and how successful a network even with repeaters might be. My staircase doesn't have any plugs along it for repeaters so best I could do is at the top of the stairs along my wall and perhaps somewhere downstairs and so on.