Need general advice. Migrate from x10 and old alarm system

Need general advice. Migrate from x10 and old alarm system

Hello,
I've been using X10 for a long time, 30 years or so. My devices are pretty much limited to lamp modules, especially around the holiday season.
Currently I run linux on my laptop with an XP VM running AHP that controls a CM15a. Everything is working fine.

I also have an old alarm system I got from smarthome.com many years ago. It's a standard wireless alarm with contact sensors for doors and windows. Requires a phone line for notifications so that hasn't been hooked up in years.

I would also like to add some cameras, a couple inside (to keep tabs on the cat) and one or two outside, maybe a doorbell camera.

So I'm not a total noob, per se, but I still have gaps in my knowledge about modern implementations.

As you can tell my setup is pretty much obsolete.
Looking at getting the Hubitat but I'm kind of stuck trying to understand how this hub acts like an alarm system. I see that we can get z-wave or zigby windows and door sensors but how do we arm/disarm the system? I would like to have a keypad or some sort of a touch panel. I will need about 20 window sensors and 3 doors.

As an added plus, it would really be nice to be able to use the x10 lamp modules since they're paid for and work fine, at least until I absorb the initial cost hit and expand the system.

I would really appreciate some advice about how I'll build this system. I haven't decided on a budget yet since I'm not yet sure what all is needed, besides the obvious controller and sensors.

I've also been reading about other controllers like ISY ,vera and homeseer, so I'm really not sure which would fit my setup the best.

Many Thanks

Welcome to the Hubitat Community!