MyQ waving fees for a year

In case anyone is interested, MyQ allows for a limited time connection to IFTTT and Google for free for a year. The article claims without needing a credit card.

2 Likes

I returned mine as soon as I learned that it required a fee to begin with. I went with the Gogogate instead which works just as well, has free IFTTT support and if you search gogogate on the forums here you’ll find a custom driver to connect it directly to HE. Defiantly recommend you check out that solution.

2 Likes

I bought a $17 liftmaster gateway and a $4 contact sensor. Then used the MyQ Lite program on these forums. So no fees paid here. I can use MyQ garage to open and close through google, IFTTT and beyond!

This was more of an FYI for anyone wanting to grab it while it is free for whatever reason.

3 Likes

I wired my garage door buttons into relays on my Elk M1, and then created tasks on the Elk that turn on the relay for 1 second. I've been doing it like this since 2008 and no problems.

1 Like

I just use the MyQ app for HE and pass it through to GH, works great and there is no cost.

1 Like

In case anyone reads this thread and wonders if there's any other ways ... the Linear Z-Wave garage door controller is also great. :slight_smile:

That being said, MyQ is also great! I'm glad to see they're waiving fees for a year. Might have to convince a few new friends to try the services out.

1 Like