Mqtt2homekit integration for local control of cloud-only devices

Hi,

I am new to hubitat - still waiting for mine to arrive. Anyways, I have been considering getting the new ecobee switch+. I already have an ecobee3 thermostat and the cloud requirement has been inconvenient at times, and I see that they only support some kind of local control via Homekit.

I was looking for a way to leverage Homekit that did not involve introducing an Apple device to my setup, and I stumbled onto something called mqtt2homekit which can be leveraged to use MQTT to control Homekit enabled devices. The project even specifically mentions the ecobee3 and being able to control it locally via this project.

So, since hubitat is all about local control whenever possible, has anyone heard of and looked at this project or other similar project for integration into hubitat to leverage local control of otherwise cloud-only controlled devices such as ecobee thermostats?

1 Like

Hubitat MQTT Integration start here :slight_smile:

Thank you, I will look into that more once I get my hub. However, my intention was to inquire more specifically about leveraging Homekit for local control. The spirit of this hubitat project seems to prefer local operation rather than cloud. Unfortunately, for some devices the only avenue for local control is Homekit. So, I was wondering more about whether anyone has ever investigated looking into implementing a Homekit client natively in hubitat to get around the cloud-centric devices.

If you’re willing to run a Homebridge server (e.g. Raspberry Pi), you can integrate Hubitat devices into HomeKit. But to run HomeKit automations, you’ll need an Apple TV or similar on your home network.