Maker API remote Access

Hi Everyone,

I am trying to set up a hubitat and I decided to download the Maker API app to use as my dashboard on my phone. I have enabled the access remote / cloud option on the Maker API app in hubitat but when I am not on the network the actions I take fail to go through. When I am on my local network I am able to lock and unlock my doors perfectly fine. Are there any other settings I am missing other than enabling that remote access on the Maker API app?

Similar to the Dashboard, there is a local and a cloud end point for Maker API. To use the cloud endpoint make sure you use the Cloud URL:

https://cloud.hubitat.com/api/eb4f7-cedc-44f1-892c/apps/yourMakerApp/devices/[Device ID]?access_token=141a1-1fb4-48e2-922a

3 Likes

Sorry I am new to all of this. I am unsure where to put these URLs the Maker API spits out.

It would be best to pose that question to the developer of the dashboard app you are using on your phone.

1 Like

So you are saying these links get inputed in the dashboard app itself on the phone???

Most likely, but it is impossible to say without knowing which dashboard app you are using. There are several. Suffice it to note that the Hubitat mobile app does not need any of this, so you are apparently using an app from a community developer.

Think of MakerAPI as the middleman, it has the hub at one end and on the other needs an app or some other piece of semi-intelligent software.

2 Likes

So maybe I am confused, but are you using the built-in Hubitat dashboard (and phone app), or a 3rd party one?

I downloaded the Maker API app because when I went to use the default hubitat elevation phone app i was having trouble setting up the desktop screen. I can go back to using, it just seemed very confusing to me. since the dashboard is a blank white screen with no options and there are no mentions on the app where to add things to it.

Did you read:

3 Likes

You don't need Maker API for the stock dashboard.