Log Hubitat Events to file on PC

I started looking how to have Alexa answer a question with a Hubitat variable (i.e. Family Room Temp) but was side tracked when it was suggested I read this post. Events to SQL I was intrigued by the approach and although I've seen many references to Node-RED it never went further.

After reading the above thread I was motivated to work on another goal of mine: Log Hubitat events to a file for analysis. This is mostly for evaluating sensors for stability and thermal lag etc. I never meant to use it for long term logging. For my 44 devices a day created a 400k file.

So I took the plunge. I found Node-RED very easy to get installed and running. I had a little trouble getting started but with the help of @stephack I was able to get the logs I wanted in a spreadsheet usable form.

I've never used Node-RED before 4 days ago. I'm not a programmer however I have a technical background.

The information below should be very easy to implement, just copy, import into Node-RED, change to your IP address and change to you output file path and name the you should be good to go :slight_smile:

Note: I've blocked the wx-ApiXU-Driver as it wasn't useful to me and created a lot of entries.
Added notes:

1. Nothing has to be done with the Habitat Hub
  2. Websocket originally sounded too "network" to me, however there is nothing to do except to add in your IP address.
  3. I doubt this will work if the computer is not on the same router as the Hub.

I hope someone else finds this useful.

John

Sample File output.
DeviceID, Date/time, name, display name value and units.

The below code when imported to Node-RED requires only the change in IP address and output filename and path.

The flow as shown in Node-RED:

The Websocket screen showing where to enter your IP address

The output screen showing where to enter your path and file. The full path and filename are required.
Node%2C%20Write%20to%20File