Is Zigbee Fixed on the C8?

I purchased a C8 shortly after release but it has been sitting in the box while I waited for the Zigbee issues to be resolved. It seems like the posts of people with Zigbee problems have died down. So i am wondering if now is the right time to upgrade my C7. Any thoughts from C8 users?

My network is primarily Zigbee including Hue indoor and outdoor motion sensors.

2 Likes

I'm new to Hubitat but have just moved my small Zigbee network from Home Assistant over to a C8 with almost no problems.

You can change your channel, but choose the channel wisely....

1 Like

It's looking quite good recently, and the most significant problems joining some devices and keeping them joined appear to have been resolved.

The main "however" at this point is probably the intermittent Zigbee radio offline/online instances that can occur for some users. I had my last ones yesterday, and they typically only last some number of seconds. However, when the radio comes back online devices may take a bit longer to reconnect.

In my case they haven't caused me any significant problems...one time in the last week or so a light didn't come on when I walked into a room. Other than that no noticeable issues...but it's a YMMV situation, if the offline/online hits you in a high-use moment it may be more of a (temporary) pain.

TL;DR: If you want to be "more sure" I'd wait a little until the offline/online moments are solved, and then jump in. If you have a working system should be no need to rush...

5 Likes

I have transferred more than 70 Zigbee devices from my old C-7 to a new C-8 hub. It’s a mix of Tuya, Aqara and Sonoff devices . All is working as expected, no any drop-offs in the last week after all the old series Aqara battery-powered sensors found their favourite always-on Zigbee repeating device.

4 Likes