Integration w/ Thermostat

Hello all,

I've recently starting digging into Opensource and community around home automation. I'm fairly new to some of the lexicon within this area, but I've worked many years in opensource development. I was impressed when I started reading about this project, and was hoping someone could help clarify a few things before I purchased anything.

Stage one of the project was replace old thermostats in my new house, however quickly realized that all the popular brands required everything to becon out to the cloud. I then came across Z-wave protocol, but found that some products thermostats and hubs regardless of using Z-wave still require cloud access for functionality. Top it off most product listings are very vague about these details, so I was happy when Hubitat specifically mentioned 'cloud-free'.

I guess we're I'm getting confused is on a thermostat like the Honeywell T6 pro series.

It says it's Z-wave, however honeywell support staff says that none of their units actually work without cloud access. Are there preferred units to keep all data local? And what smart features are really being lost other than someone's cloud analytic engine adjusting my temp schedules?

I don't own one, but I think the t6 zwave thermostat is zwave only, no wifi. So if it has no wifi how does it need cloud access to work? I'm guessing you got some bad info from Honeywell. Here's a link to the manual. No mention of wifi.

FYI while Hubitat is, in fact, cloud-free, it really does like to be able to reach an NTP server when it boots. Otherwise it uses the last known time.

That's good to know. Managing NTP shouldn't be a issue even in an offline state.

So what would I really be gaining by building a linux server with Z wave controller vs buying a hubitat?