Ikea Tradfri Gateway integration

Hey everybody,

I'm still new to smart homes and just set up my Hubitat and trying to wrap my head many things. I've used the search function before starting the topic and didn't find a sufficient answer for me. So far I know, that not all Tradfri devices work with the HE, especially switches. Trying to use GH as a middle man doesn't work either. What I've found is Hub connect. I understand, that it is used to connect several HE and also that there is a version for ST to connect HE and ST.

Question for me is: Isn't there a way to connect the HE and the Tradfri Gateway in a similar way, especially because they are both LAN-Devices, as far as I understand it. It seems to be possible in HA (IKEA TRÅDFRI - Home Assistant).

I think I've found something, that it isn't possible because of a non open API(?) which confuses me even more, because for what I've read, it has an open API.

Sorry if this is a stupid question but I have no IT background it still try to understand most of the stuff...

1 Like

AFAIK, there is no OFFICIAL API to access the Tradfri gateway over the LAN. The Home Assistant component you linked to uses a reverse-engineered API.

It would be foolhardy for Hubitat, the company, to spend time creating an integration based on an unofficial API that it subject to unpredictable changes, creating a support nightmare. Home Assistant, not being a commercial product, doesn’t come with the support expectations of a commercial product like Hubitat.

That being said, there is nothing to stop the development of an (unsupported) community integration for Hubitat. Have at it!

2 Likes

I have some of the Ikea devices that aren't supported by Hubitat and I'm in the middle of moving over from SmartThings, so my plan would be to just use the SmartThings -> Hubitat integration for those devices not supported by Hubitat.

So if you already have a SmartThings hub I'd say that would be the easiest way.