Ideas for powering wall-mounted tablet

I have a 7" Fire tablet with a mounting bracket, trying to figure out how to power the thing without cords showing. My original idea was to mount a recessed outlet behind the tablet by tying into the light switches below, but I'm having a hard time finding a recessed outlet deep enough to fit a USB adapter inside.

I've also seen wall outlets with built-in USB slots...this would work, except I can't find one that comes recessed.

Here's what I'm working with...tablet is currently held up with double-stick tape until I figure out a permanent solution.

How are the rest of you powering your wall-mounted tablets?

Here's the recessed outlet I bought...typical USB wall charger doesn't come close:

I have a low profile 90 degree charger that would probably work, except it's too long...even if I were to cut a hole for the USB cable/plug to go in, it would interfere with the mounting screw:

Did you try an apple phone charger with L shape cable?

What about this box with a usb outlet:

1 Like

I bought a recessed Frame and socket seperately (mentioned in the post above)....

4 Likes

How about getting a reassessed box that you can put your own outlet in. Then throw in a outlet with USB ports and plug the tablet into that.

I was going to do this when ready. Had the parts all bookmarked and just haven’t got to it yet.

1 Like

I have a severe shortage of Apple parts...we're an Android family :rofl:

Ahhh that recessed DIY outlet looks like the ticket, thanks guys! And thanks for the link @chuck.schwer :slight_smile:

1 Like

How about one of these recessed/angled outlets?

http://www.homedepot.com/p/1-Gang-Recessed-TV-Media-Box-Kit-with-Surge-Suppressing-Outlet-and-Low-Voltage-Inserts-White-TV1WTVSSW/304271154

1 Like

That has potential... I think the single gang linked above, mouted horizontally, will work out ok. Ordered one a little while ago, should be here Saturday.

Get a wireless pad instead. No charging cable sticking out.